job offer but not until December

Nurses New Nurse

Published

Hi all,

I am so used to posting on the student forum I started to write this there then I remembered, I'm a brand new RN! I just had a question about this, was looking for input please.

I applied for an RN position back in late October and received my acceptance letter then.

I was told by the hiring manager that I would be put on the wait list at that time I got my letter, because there was a 6 month waiting list for the residency program. I was accepted into a pediatric/ICU rotation at a trauma hospital, which was really a dream come true.

Fast forward. I graduated in May and passed my NCLEX mid July, and forwarded my information (BLS, transcripts, etc) to HR, as was instructed.

I got a call recently that I can not start working until mid December. I explained that I was told I was put on the wait list in Oct, but the woman I spoke with said it went based on when I received my license number.

I am currently working as a PCA and my manager unfortunately can't help at all. I guess they are just backed up with applicants.

My question is. Should I wait for this program, or should I accept another job in a medsurg/tele unit with a different hospital system? This other hospital is much smaller. Still has good ratings though. I can start in August.

My ultimate goal is to move out of state and work in a peds burn unit... I know this is so millennial of me but am I being too impatient? I just put so much work into school like we all have I know, and I just want to start! Waiting for Dec also will make me wait to move where I want to as well.... what would you do?

TIA!

If your goal is to work in peds, it makes sense to wait for the peds position. Maybe you can do flu clinics in the meantime?

I would get a job at Walmart and wait for the residency in December. It's only 4 months.