Would you say anything?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I'm kind of in a quandry about this, the other day I was in the post office and the guy in front of me had a large bad looking growth on his neck. I figure there was no way he couldn't not know about it but it was on the back of his neck, but then I started to wonder if I should say something to him about getting it looked at. I ended up deciding to mind my own business and not say anything. But anyone else ever encountered this? Did you say anything? A nurse friend of mine told me she saw a lady sitting in front of her in a movie theater with a mole that looked like skin cancer and just leaned over and said "I'm a nurse you need to get your mole checked" The woman spit out her popcorn and changed her seat. I mean it seems right to say something but it also seems wrong, like invading privacy.

Nope. Not my job to make medical diagnoses. Also giving medical advice implies you are taking responsibility for the person you give advice too. If the growth was large, I'm sure he was aware of it, and for all you I now, he has already seen a professional.

Agree with previous poster. I have enough liability through my practice that I don't need to go looking for more from complete strangers.

Specializes in Pedi.

No. I try not to talk to strangers at all.

I once was in the grocery store and walked by a mother with an approximately 6 month old in the cart. Sickest looking kid I've seen outside of the hospital. And then I heard the distinctive whoop of pertussis and watched that poor baby turn all shades of purple and gasp for air. I just could not keep on walking so I identified myself as a PICU nurse and that I suspected her child had whooping cough and needed to be seen immediately. She got all kinds of huffy and called me some really vile names. The kid arrested in the check out line.