The Bravest Thing I've Ever Done

October is Breast Cancer month. It is also Domestic Violence Awareness month. I've been through both, and breast cancer is not the hardest thing I've ever done. Nurses Announcements Archive

Published

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.

In 2012, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. From the moment I was diagnosed, I was never in doubt about the next step. The first step was to call a surgeon, and here are some recommendations. At the surgeon's office, I was presented with a plan (and two back-up plans in case the first one was too awful to contemplate) and a Nurse Coordinator to help me follow the steps and negotiate the health care system. I'm a nurse; I can negotiate a health care system -- but when you're blindsided with a potentially terminal diagnosis, your critical thinking and organizational skills go right down the rabbit hole.

There were steps -- breast cancer these days has distinct treatment plans for this type of tumor and one for that type of tumor and another for this stage or that stage. Once you enter the system in the Breast Center, you follow the "recipe" -- one step after another. There's rarely any doubt about what to do next, and if there is, the Nurse Coordinator steps up to help you out.

Domestic Violence isn't like that. There's no "cookbook" approach: if he does this, then you do that. There's no coordinator to help you navigate the system unless you are fortunate enough to have either a good domestic violence program or shelter near you, or unless you have wealth enough to hire an attorney. And the attorney won't help you deal with the emotional fallout.