How did you get the big pay raise?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

So don't get me wrong, I certainly am not a nurse for the money. I love bedside nursing and I chose this career because I love it.

I have been a nurse on the same unit for 2.5 years and make just a little more than I did when I began as a nurse in my facility and was wondering when things "broke" for you, like when did you get your first big pay raise or your first job that payed more than your starting salary? When were you promoted within your hospital? Within bedside nursing, I feel like there isn't much career mobility and was wondering when others "caught their break"?

Specializes in OB-Gyn/Primary Care/Ambulatory Leadership.

Pay raises come with changing jobs. For ideal salary, you should consider changing employers every 2-3 years.

Specializes in ICU.

I recently got a significant increase (almost $6/hr) for years of critical care experience.

Specializes in Critical care.

I changed health systems. They were far enough apart (but the same drive time from my house) that there was a big difference in base pay.

So don't get me wrong, I certainly am not a nurse for the money. I love bedside nursing and I chose this career because I love it.

I have been a nurse on the same unit for 2.5 years and make just a little more than I did when I began as a nurse in my facility and was wondering when things "broke" for you, like when did you get your first big pay raise or your first job that payed more than your starting salary? When were you promoted within your hospital? Within bedside nursing, I feel like there isn't much career mobility and was wondering when others "caught their break"?