coworkers calling me stupid to and in front of patients

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Can I have advice please as for what to say to some of my coworkers who do this?

They will tell my patients that I'm "not very smart and it's scary I'm a nurse" for example. I have felt it damage the rapport with a few patients they said this to in front of me.

I wonder what I've done for them to do this (them is really just 3 people but it feels like a lot more you know what I mean? It feels like everyone else will follow them) I think maybe I ask for it in a way because I have a habit to make jokes at my expense and laugh at myself.

But whatever the reason I don't feel it's right especially not in front of my patients who need to feel that they can trust me.

I am a competant nurse. I have not made any mistakes, I ask questions when I'm not sure of something and I do resrearch when I need to. I've never been in trouble for doing something wrong as a nurse. I am a new nurse though so I'm always learning yet.

What can I say to stop this? I've said in the past "I've graduated top of my class I'm not stupid" but it continues.

Maybe my response sounds arrogant. Can anyone suggest something else?

Thank you.

Edit

The people who do this are a nurse, an aid, and a secretary. I know I sound sensitive but it does effect my day and like I said my patients' trust when I'm called stupid or dumb and especially the last comment telling my patient that it's scary I'm a nurse, had really bothered me. The context this was said in was I asked a student if she was a student nurse. She wore no badge and her lab coat did have the school enblem but on a shoulder that wasn't facing me. I was ambulating my new post op patient in the hall. The aid said "she's not too smart it's scary she's a nurse". There's been countless other instances similar where I don't feel it's deserved, I mean that I didn't do any mistake or something to deserve to be called names.

Ask them why they do it