Should new grads negotiate their pay??

Nurses New Nurse

Published

1. Should new grads negotiate their pay?

YES
      NO

42 members have participated

So, this is a topic that was brought up by a friend of mine and I decided to ask all the nurses here on allnurses.

I am a new grad RN and I did not negotiate my pay. I am a new grad so I did not really feel like I have a good reason to negotiate my pay and plus I was very happy with the pay that was offered.

However, I have heard quite frequently the topic of negotiating your pay. What is your guys' opinion on this? Should new grads negotiate pay? When is a good time to negotiate pay? How many years should you be employed as an RN before you ask for more than what was offered to you?? Let me know

Xox Alex

It's not really a question of "should." You are welcome to try it if you want to, but you're unlikely to be successful. Few new grads have anything to offer employers that sets them apart from and makes them more valuable than any other new grad. They require long, expensive orientation and are a financial liability to the employer for the first 1-2 years. If a new grad wants to try to make a case that s/he should get more money than a particular employer's standards "new grad" rate, s/he is likely to get passed over for the next new grad in line.

Specializes in NICU.

Most hospitals have a set new grad pay rate. After working for 2-3 yrs, you apply for a nursing job at another hospital, you might have room to negotiate with the new hospital if your current pay is less than what the new hospital offered to pay you for 2-3 yrs experience.

Specializes in Critical Care, Med-Surg, Psych, Geri, LTC, Tele,.

This is one reason I'm so glad I work in a union facility. Pay rates are published and are awesome.

I never was good at negotiating salaries.