Tired of School Nursing?

Specialties School

Published

Specializes in School Nursing, Home Health.

Guys,

I've been a school nurse now for 2.5 years. Worked at nursing home before this and do home health PRN (which has been slow!)

Which means two things.

1. I don't get to dress cool interesting wounds as much.

2. Makes our budget a little tighter!

I just get tired of the sucky pay at the school you know? But I know that my little one is only little once and that I can work the rest of my life. I don't know. Guess I'm just venting.

I find myself day dreaming about a more interesting/better paying job. :angrybird10:

Okay. End of vent. :cat:

The pay certainly is sucky.

I need the time now. I have a lot going on. I wouldn't trade it off at all.

Specializes in school nursing, ortho, trauma.

i hear that - retirement is far off and not that far off all at the same time. Time to decide what i want to do when i grow up.

Specializes in Pediatrics Retired.

You know how HH is...feast or famine. Let's hear from you next month when you're turning down visits!! I've traded off a lot of cool stuff I'd like to have for sitting on the beach during the summer while most of my nurse friends are still hammering away with 12 hours shifts, weekends, etc. Plus having kids in the district incorporates about a thousand eyes on them. I know what happens to them before they do!!

Specializes in School nursing.

I love my job. It is frustrating sometimes but never boring or slow at my slow. I am exhausted when I get home.

But I will love my job even more as I enjoy my week over for February vacation next week. I never worked in the hospital so I have never experienced the pay "downgrade" so-to-speak. And I worked in education prior to becoming a nurse and this education job is a pretty significant bump in pay from my previous ones.

Specializes in School Nursing.