Do i look tasty???

Nurses New Nurse

Published

UGH!! This is a vent and my first posting...

Why do nurses eat their young?????? I am so frustrated!!!! I am a new nurse.... but I am not new to life.. this is my second career path (I am 30 years old and was in the military)... I recently started on a floor and I swear I almost lost it today.... I was seriously almost eaten alive by this one nurse (I was about 10 seconds away from tears)... I just don't get why people think they can stomp over other people.... I would never treat anyone badly.... ever... I think part of the problem is that I look very young... I am also very small so I probably look pretty "tasty."

Have any of you been eaten alive? How did you handle it? Did you say something to the person? Did you go to your director? Share your stories... I need to feel that I am not alone and really kind of looking for advice...

Thanks....

Specializes in Theatre.

I can feel your frustration. This sosrt of treatment can seriously undermine your confidence and performance. Try and keep things in perspective. What were the other nurses like? The situation you encountered can occur in any walk of life not just nursing. This nurse may have been having a bad day or may be diffcult even on a good day. The challenge is to learn how to respond without escalating the situation. This can be difficult when you are still trying to establish yourself in a new environment. Hang in there. Think about ways others have encouraged/supported/assisted you, rather than focussing on the one who upset you.

UGH!! This is a vent and my first posting...