taking a job but quitting in 4 months?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I graduated in May. I was offered an RN night position at a children's physical rehab hospital. Currently even though I'm a licensed RN I am still working as a PCA. I have another promised position as an RN to start in December with the same system I'm a PCA with.(in a hospital ICU)

I have also intended to move out of state, although I'm doing it more slowly than I thought.

I could start immediately at the rehab. I would be leaving that position either way...whether I moved or stayed long enough to accept the job in December. But if I knew for sure I'd be moving in January for example I'd just stay with the rehab until then.

My question is, does that look bad to leave a position that fast?

The job I want for when I do move out of state is a new grad position in the ICU or CCU and they allow you to work for 6 Mos or less to qualify.

I just want to do what's best for my shot at that job when I move. The reason I haven't moved yet is my mother. But I might have to just move ahead without her until she's ready.

Thank you!

Leaving two RN jobs in under 6 months will look very bad. Leaving one RN job in under 6 months looks bad, but more understandable if you are moving. Think of the interview question "why did you leave?" and how you will answer it for future positions.

Whether you do one or two RN jobs in your first six months, I highly recommend you stay at your next job for at least 2 years.

And, for reference, I left my first job after 6 months. I've interviewed some but have stayed at my second job. I've definitely gotten some side eye for the six month gig.