Getting into the Emergency department

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Hello all, I am interested in transferring into the emergency department. I've been an nurse about 4 years, the last 2 years in cardiac ICU. BSN, CCRN.

I was recently called for an interview, but I was a bit surprised at the amount of training needed. I know ICU and ED are two different beasts and a lot of training is going to be needed.

It was a total of 14 weeks of training total, through classroom training and precepting. I didn't even train that long to get into the ICU. I am still very interested, but I am just curious if this is the standard everywhere.

Specializes in NICU, ICU, PICU, Academia.

You are fortunate- because ED is a complicated specialty.

Specializes in Emergency, Telemetry, Transplant.

The thing is that you see everything and anything--and even after your orientation, it is likely there is still "stuff" you did not see. Guaranteed you will see it on your first week on your own.

I got less than 14 weeks, but be grateful for having an orientation that is that long; and do not try and rush yourself off orientation.

Hello all, I am interested in transferring into the emergency department. I've been an nurse about 4 years, the last 2 years in cardiac ICU. BSN, CCRN.

I was recently called for an interview, but I was a bit surprised at the amount of training needed. I know ICU and ED are two different beasts and a lot of training is going to be needed.

It was a total of 14 weeks of training total, through classroom training and precepting. I didn't even train that long to get into the ICU. I am still very interested, but I am just curious if this is the standard everywhere.

There are varying practices for orienting new employees to the ED.