Quit while on orientation

Nurses New Nurse

Published

Hello,

I would like some opinions. I am currently on orientation but was offered a new job elsewhere. The new job pays considerably more. I'm a new grad RN but have extensive experience in other aspects of healthcare. I will not go into further detail about that. I don't think I will be able to give proper notice to current employer.

What is the best way to notify current employer? I'm pretty sure I will not just be burning this bridge but blowing it up. I am overall satisfied with current employer but cannot pass up this new opportunity. Any ideas?

There is more to this whole thing but I don't want to go into extensive detail for fear of being recognized.

Thank you all.

Any employer should understand that you need to give at least 2 weeks' notice to your current employer. In fact, if they know you are employed, I think it'd look bad (to the new employer) that you don't give proper notice. However, be aware that if you give notice on orientation, it is quite likely that you will not be required to work out your notice.

Specializes in Travel, Home Health, Med-Surg.

I think you should give a 2 week notice and an extra excuse as to why you are leaving, better for my family, closer drive etc. (better to burn than to blow up, nursing is a small world) And, if you are "overall satisfied" with your current job I would think twice about accepting a different job based on higher pay alone.

I would see if your employer has a policy on how much notice is required to leave in good standing. I know my facility has one and requires licensed professionals to give 4 weeks notice.