Will there be a huge turf war between PA and NP?

Specialties NP

Published

Will there be a huge turf war between pa and NP? Such as will you see PA being the provider of choice or NP being the provider of choice all competing for same jobs? Which career do you see having the brighter future between the two? If I was a doctor that is in charge of hiring it seems more advantageous to hire a PA while if I was a hospital/manager or not a doctor it would be better to hire a NP. What are your thoughts?

Specializes in NICU.

I don't know the answer to your question, but I did read a disturbing account of someone who worked as a women's health NP and her place of employment has replaced their NPs with PAs because NPs were more expensive and in a nursing union. I was so shocked to see that at first... Since NPs are a smaller part of the workforce, I don't know what or if anything the nursing union did to support them.

This was in Boston and the place was a teaching facility, according to the poster.

Specializes in ACNP-BC, Adult Critical Care, Cardiology.

The usual answer is there is room for both types of provider and I tend to agree with that based on my personal experience with the caveat that role bias toward one provider versus the other will always exist in some specialties and geographic locations. NP's claim that the existence of states with Full Practice Autonomy works to our advantage especially in securing primary care roles but some data actually show that the percentage of PA's in primary care are higher than NPs.

I think that what can work to our disadvantage overall is our larger number compared to PA's and the even larger number of routes to an NP career with some being perceived as too easy (i.e., for profit programs, distance learning routes). However, there are specific NP specialties with lower numbers overall such as NNP's and PMHNP's who fill a niche role where the market isn't saturated.