HELP, AA, BSN or MSN

Nursing Students Pre-Nursing

Published

1. Which degree should I go for?

AA
      BSN
      MSN

9 members have participated

I need some advice on which path to take. I have a BA degree and after 20 years have decided I would like to become an RN. I have a family and want to make sure I don't waste time but want to get the degree that makes sense. Do I go to a community college? MSN? Is the pay going to be different?

Specializes in Geri - Edu - Infection Control - QAPI.

Can you give some more info about your background? What is your previous degree in? Do you want to start working ASAP? What type of healthcare experience do you have?

Where you live and what you hope to do with your degree also make a big difference.

I have a BA and have been working as a graphic designer for the past 20 years in pharma advertising. I'm currently not working and taking some pre-req classes. I would like to get working sooner then later.

I live in CA and would like to work in Labor and delivery at some point.

In that case, start with the BSN ...especially if you're in a saturated area of the state and don't wish to move. The pay won't be significantly different, but you'll have more specialty options (as possibilities, not guarantees), more employer options, and be more competitive in general.

If you lived in a South Texas border town and wanted L&D, I'd say ADN would suit your needs just fine.

It can be very difficult to get into ANY nursing program at a public college, whether ADN or BSN. Go to your nearest schools, both ADN and BSN, talk to the counselors. Start taking prerequisites. Most nurses within the same hospital are paid the same salary irregardless of their ADN or even MSN degree if they are doing the same bedside nursing job.