Job Offer But it's Out-of-state

Nurses Job Hunt

Published

So guys I was offered a position in the OR at Fargo, North Dakota. I'm excited and scared at the same time. Accepting this position means I will have to relocate and I've never lived on my own. The hospital is willing to offer relocation assistance. I am interested in surgical services and I know this is a great opportunity especially since I am a new grad RN.

This job requires me to work 5 days a week, 6:30 a.m.-3:30p.m. plus take call. My issue with that is I am not a morning person and I prefer 12 hr shifts. As a nurse assistant I use to work the night shift and I loved it. I'm more energetic at night. I really want to try out being a perioperative nurse though. So should I let the fact that I am nocturnal deter me from trying? I don't want to disappoint myself or my employer.

I need some advice and guidance guys.

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.

Really -- your doubts about this job are because it's DAY shift? It's a great opportunity, and I suspect you can train yourself to be awake in the morning. After years and years of night shift, I've finally trained myself to get up at 6 am. (Although I really do like the days I can still sleep in.) Living on your own is a skill everyone should have. I'd say go for it!

Well yea I'm scared I'm going to over sleep or not get enough sleep the night before because I'm always up late until 3:00 a.m. Plus with the call thing, what if I sleep out the page!!! And I don't want to show up to work half asleep and groggy because I only slept a fews hrs the night before. I worry alot. Can you tell lol?

Specializes in Critical Care; Cardiac; Professional Development.

These are all issues WELL within your control. Don't stay up until 3. Put the pager where you need it to be to wake you. Set alarms.

Congratulations on your offer :) That is super exciting.

Specializes in NICU.