How do YOU keep up with assessments?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Pain Management, RN experience was in ER.

I was wondering what everyone's systems were for keeing up with assessment data on a patient? I know that a FEW of us are lucky enough to make it to a computer RIGHT after assessing a patient, but how does everyone else do it? On just a scratch sheet of paper? Did you make an assessment form of your own? Do you have one to share =)? Just curious what everyone's system is. I dont know how to make my own! I'm just a nurse tech, but I'm trying to be organized NOW so I can make it a habit. We still have LOADS to chart even as a nurse tech and tomorrow is my first day. As a CNA I didnt have anything to chart but ADLs, vitals, I&O, and safety checks. I'm scared! I know that I can learn from nurses at work, but how do YOU do it?

Specializes in Med-surg; OB/Well baby; pulmonology; RTS.

Our computers that we chart everything on are on wheels and we are encouraged to take them into our pt. rooms with us and chart our assessment as we go (the only exception being isolation rooms of course). Otherwise I write down little notes and do so especially in a crisis situation.

Do pay attention to what other nurses do but you will eventially work out your own system.

Specializes in Cardiac Telemetry, ED.

I use a worksheet with space for assessments and jot notes as I go. Later, when I can make it to a computer, I chart my assessments.

Specializes in RN- Med/surg.

I'm still new..and discovering what works for me. Luckily we have computers in all the rooms. Usually I just jot down abnormal assessments on my brains. If there are alot of abnormals...I chart in the room before leaving.