Seasoned nurses really affecting my self esteem as a newer nurse..need to vent?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I work at a drug rehab facility. I have a great "lead nurse" But thing is she can uses her years of experience to constantly shoot down all of my ideas and suggestions.

She points out wrongs sometimes and love to say and also say to clients I've been a nurse for 20 years.

If I make a simple mistakes, she say to the Dr well she did this and that. I feel like the Dr doesn't trust my judgment and see me as incompetent.

One day, while giving report a client walked in and asked for tums, she says to the client are you sure its heartburn or a heart attack, let me know while I'm here because I'm the only one that can save your life here.

Also, when I send email saying I.E a client is having a migraine, she'll go behind me and say I;ve been as nurse 20 years these symptoms are not consistent with a migraine, maybe a headache but not a migraine. I told her a migraine is subjective.

I also work PRN every other weekend and I have bad anxiety because I don't know what will come up, I look at my notes, will do everything to find a answer but if I check with another nurse she seems bother and I overheard some nurses saying I always need their help.

I'm so depressed that I don't know how to be a nurse, I want to quit altogether sometimes. I exceeded in school and clinicals but now I just don't know.

I don't want to sound negative, but any tips at all? I just need to vent.

HeySis, BSN, RN

435 Posts

Specializes in PACU.

So this is your first job as an LPN? RN?

How much training/orientation did you get? how many people are you responsible for? are there other nurses working the same shift as you?

Just looking to see more about the job situation before I offer any advice.

mzsuccess

425 Posts

So this is your first job as an LPN? RN?