% infants in Peds? Male RN in Peds?

Specialties Pediatric

Published

Hi. New grad RN/BSN here looking for career advice. I used to be a 5th/6th grade teacher and I love kids. I am thinking of applying for nursing jobs in Pediatrics. There are two concerns that I would appreciate advice on. My first concern is that I'm not sure if I want to work much with infants. I have only a tiny amount of personal experience with infants. I don't dislike infants, it's just that I can't speak to them like I can speak to older children, and they have teeny tiny veins!

My second concern, which really shouldn't be a concern but I think it may be, is that I am a man. During nursing school, I spent only two days in Pediatrics, and I had a bad experience. The Peds nurses (all female) didn't seem to like me at all. At that time on this particular Peds unit, nearly all of the patients were new mothers with babies, overflow from the Labor & Delivery unit. The RN supervising me would not let me care for her patients, nor be present in the patient's room during teaching and discharge instructions. The RN told me that one of the patients had specifically asked that no men provide care for her. Another patient had not insisted on no men, but was being giving instructions on breastfeeding, and the Peds RN told me that it would be too awkward to have a man in the room.

My questions are: In your Peds unit, what percentage of the patients are infants or mothers with infants, as opposed to toddlers and school age children? Also, are male nurses shunned by nurses and/or patients in Peds units generally?

Thanks for any advice!