New nurse staying way past 9:30 pm on day shift

Nurses New Nurse

Published

Hello everyone,

I am a new nurse and this past week was my first on my own and also my first 4/4. I work at a very busy med surg floor and needless to say I feel very stressed/overwhelmed being on my own.

I am so scared of making a big mistake. I usually end up giving some meds late like very late :((. Even though I try really hard it is very difficult with 9 patients. I had two patients with PEG tubes so those really made me late for meds for all the other patients. On top of that, doctors want me to round with them, management, new orders, critical lab value reports ughh just remembering it all makes me hypertensive lol. I have stayed very late until 10 pm or worsee 12 am (that day was crazy).

I absolutely LOVE my job and my patients, but it is too much. I usually end up thinking of little things that I should have documented but didnt. I stay up late documenting but even then I feel like my documentation is not very good. I am scared those four days I was on my own I made a mistake I didnt catch.

There are a lot of things I could have done better for my patients but could not since I was very busy. I don't know if I should talk to my director and ask her.

Time management with meds and documenting is my big issue. Anyone have any tips to keep up with documentation/passing meds on time/ provider notification? I also give meds one by one so I take out the mediction for one patient and then go give it, then I return to the med room take out medications for next pt. and give them. I dot he same for insulins but I am beginning to see not everyone does that. How do you all pass meds? one by one too?

Any tips/advice/suggestions are welcomed,

Sincerely,

A stressed out new nurse.

First off, 9 med/Surg patients is insane! Are you including admits or do you have 9 patients at 1 time? I don't know if I could do 9 patients.