Two different blood pressure readings?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Hi,

what would be causes for different blood pressure readings in young adults.

I looked uo causes for the elder but can't find any for the younger population.

Also, which reading to you take?

Example: If you were to give a patient a BP med and BP was low and you checked the other arm and BP was WNL.

Which do you accept?

Triddin

380 Posts

I would check the low side again in 5 mins

TriciaJ, RN

4,328 Posts

Specializes in Psych, Corrections, Med-Surg, Ambulatory.

What's your instructor's take on it?

8Lovenursing8

42 Posts

What's your instructor's take on it?

I'm not in college. I'm a nurse

brownbook

3,413 Posts

Are these young adult patients in an acute care hospital? What is their underlying illness?

Some more information would be helpful. How "low" is low? How much difference in the readings?

BP can easily change 5 - 10 points within a few minutes for a variety of reasons.

8Lovenursing8

42 Posts

Are these young adult patients in an acute care hospital? What is their underlying illness?

Some more information would be helpful. How "low" is low? How much difference in the readings?

BP can easily change 5 - 10 points within a few minutes for a variety of reasons.

For instance.

I have a patient and the morning nurse readings are always higher.

When I take them they're always low.

So I asked which arm did the morning nurse take his BP.

He said his right and his vitals were normal.

Left arm 110/56 52

Right arm 128/68 67

To answer your first question.

i work in the psych hospital

blood pressures are dynamic, they never stay exactly the same. a good example of this is if you've ever seen a CPV monitor or ART line put in. you'll see it change second by second.