BEING PICKED ON

Nurses General Nursing

Published

1. being picked on

any help appreciated
      I really need help on this

2 members have participated

I am a 65 year old nurse. I am a RN. I work in geriatric facility. I have been a nurse for 20 years. I have CCU and Geriatric experience. I feel like I am being picked on by a ADON is a LPN. I always being called in to her office and being told that I need to work on my notes etc i write on my charting. I went through all of the reports that were written on the topic she told me about. Other nurses in our facility make the same errors I do and they are never told about their errors. I am only human and my ADON says since i am a RN I am held to a higher standard then the OTHER nurses are. I feel like i am being singled out. I have taken 4 sick days this year and the ADON gave me a lecture on sick days. the other nurses with kids etc call in because their kids are sick and that is ok and they are never told about taking too many sick days. I feel like i am being singled out and picked on. Any help on handling this matter would be appreciated..

Specializes in Psych (25 years), Medical (15 years).

I had a similar situation, cabinman, with our director and I called her out in a meeting where I was called to HR for not completing a superfluous form. She had complained about other superficial things previously. I initiated a grievance process, citing harassment.

It's been over a year and she hasn't bothered me since.

Good luck to you, cabinman!

Hello cabinman -

There really isn't enough information. The question is, are you performing well or not?

Biggest mistake is using your coworkers as your yardstick. I'm sure you don't mean to feel good about your performance solely as evidenced by being better than people who don't even meet your own standards. Right?