What's the nicest compliment you've gotten as a nurse?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Just thought we could all use a warm and fuzzy topic. Nursing can seem like a thankless job at times, and when you do get that rare validation from a patient or another staff member it sticks with you. For me, I'll always remember how I felt when a CNA came up to me and said "We all feel safer with you around".

So how about you? What's something nice that a patient or another staff member said that stands out to you?

Specializes in LTC, assisted living, med-surg, psych.

When I was a new nurse, I took care of a late-middle-aged patient over the course of several days. In so doing, I got to know her pretty well, and we exchanged more than airy pleasantries. During her bed bath one day, she asked me why I'd become a nurse relatively late in life, and I told her a little about how I was a former welfare mom with an unemployed husband and four young children. (This was obviously before I learned *not* to disclose personal information to patients.) On the morning of her discharge, she handed me a huge bouquet of flowers from her room and said, "You are an extraordinary woman. I'll never forget you" and gave me a hug. I've never forgotten that...it made me feel that I really was in the right place at that moment in time.

Specializes in Psych (25 years), Medical (15 years).
During her bed bath one day, she asked me why I'd become a nurse

Part of your sweet story, Marla, reminded me of when I worked med surge and ER in a small rural community hospital. I had a patient who was an old, kind, gentlemanly farmer type.

You could look out his hospital room window and there were cornfields as far as the eye could see. And I'll never forget what he said to me during the nice conversation we were having on that late summer's day in 1992 while he lay in his bed and I sat by his side plucking out his nose hairs, one by one, just for the fun of it, with a straight Kelly.