Burnt out on Working Weekends and Holidays

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I have been a nurse for a little over a year and a half now in labor and delivery and love the work I do itself. However, I recently have become very burnt out. This is mainly due to scheduling. I am thinking I would like to get more into something that does not include weekends and holidays in order to spend more time with family. I currently have my BSN in nursing and was wondering what else I could do with my degree?

Thanks!

Dear Burnt-out in L&D,

Most clinical positions in acute care include shift work, weekends, and holidays. And that can be a real conflict for Moms (and Dads) who want to spend weekend and holiday time with their family.

One solution to scheduling burn-out is transitioning to a non-clinical position, such as management, or education, for example. There are many roles that allow you to work traditional M-Fri in the hospital setting, such as Informatics, Case Management, Infection Prevention, and more. It all depends on your interest. Your BSN qualifies you for many different opportunities.

Other options include leaving the acute care setting altogether. Keep in mind that the longer and further away you are from L&D, the harder it is to get back to the bedside if you think you may want to down the line.

Outpatient services allows you to stay in the acute care setting while enjoying more of a Mon-Fri schedule. These include Interventional Radiology, Cath Lab, PACU, and Endoscopy, although you will be required to work on-call.

Is going part-time or per diem an option for you? Sometimes that's enough to relieve the burn-out while still keeping clinically active.

Best wishes,

Nurse Beth

nurse-beth-purple-logo.jpg

Author, "Your Last Nursing Class: How to Land Your First Nursing Job"...and your next!