Intro and Question about BSN vs ADN

Nursing Students Pre-Nursing

Published

Hi all - I've just discovered this site but I've wanted to be a nurse for the last 6 or so years. I'm a 30 yo SAHM to three and it seems like I've spent the last five years having babies and taking care of them while putting nursing school on hold. I've been waiting for the youngest to get old enough that I feel comfortable going back to school (he's just turning one) and I've registered for a prereq class this spring. I'm thinking it will be another year before I start nursing school and I'm debating b/w ADN and BSN. I have a bachelor's in a completely unrelated field (electrical engineering) and I have or can take most of the prereq's for BSN this coming year so either one will take me two years. I would prefer to go to cc because of the cost but I've read on here that there's often a waiting list for cc programs which scares me. I don't want to wait any longer than I have to! Also, will I find any bias against ADN nurses? Will I not "qualify" for certain jobs with an ADN? Sorry this is so long. Thanks for any replies.

I too have another degree. I chose an ADN due to the cost (and for me it was shorter in terms of time frame). I've seen no bias (ADN vs BSN) in the jobs I am offered or what I am paid. :)

I am probably going to work towards an online BSN degree, mostly because I've taken so much school it seems a little weird not to be working towards SOMETHING.

I'm so glad you asked these questions! I was wondering myself...

If I am not accepted for Fall 2005...I've decided that I will take some classes that apply to the BSN program. I am currently seeking the ADN at a CC. I'm 36 - ain't gettin' any younger...and the cost was reasonable.

Specializes in Operating Room.

There are many threads on this topic, and even some "debates" lol. I have read that there isn't any difference, except with a ADN, you can't do certain things like management.