or tech

Specialties Operating Room

Published

Hi I was just wondering if you utilize operating room tech in the states? In Canada if you are a LPN and have completed an additional year long program for certification as a OR tech , you can apply for O.R postings. I also wondered what there role is in your OR"s ?

We do use surgical techs in the US. I'm a nursing student & at our school, they offer a 2-year degree in surgical technology. I don't know too much about it, but I have seen job postings for surgical techs at local hospitals.

we use certified or techs where I work. It is a 13 month course like the LPN course. In one hospital, I worked uses or techs who are not certified. but they took the course.

I was an OR tech for a long time before I started/graduated from nursing school. It's a nice "stepping stone" job, but I wouldn't recommend it as a career.

Please advise anybody who's thinking of going to ORT school to apply that time and money to nursing school.

In the long run, they'll be glad they did it.

As far as the duties of an OR scrub tech, they can work in the operating room, central processing, surgery centers, etc....

In the OR, they scrub, set up and pass the instruments, assist the surgical team and perioperative nurses. They can get pretty involved. It's kind of an individual thing. If the techs wanna go further they can, if not, they can simply pass instruments.

Overall, it's not a bad job, it just doesn't go very far.

thanks for the info on OR tech I have been a LPN for a long time and just thought I would try it. It will still be the same though, limited in what you can do and zero abundance of jobs!

T

Yea, from what I understand, OR tech school is about 18 months. You cold go for six months more and have an associates degree in nursing. Although, again, I recommend going for a BS in nursing if you want to take it further.

Good luck!

Specializes in Postpartum, Antepartum, Psych., SDS, OR.