Is 54 too old to get a doctorate degree?

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I am 54 years old and wondering if I'm too old to get either a DNP orPhD in nursing. I graduated with my ADN at the age of 40, my BSN at age 50 and my MSN in Nursing Education at 53. I'm currently a lecturer at a university, but I still feel like I don't know what I want to do for the rest of my life.

Dear Am I Too Old,

If your question is "Am I too old to have the intellectual capacity to complete my doctorate?", then no, You are definitely (repeat, definitely) not too old to do this.

If your question is " Am I too old to have it make a difference in my career?" the answer depends on how many more years you plan to work.

While you are not too old, part of the question is, what is your motivation? A burning desire? An item on your bucket list? Are you wanting to qualify for a higher position?

I would first figure what you want to do, and then decide if pursuing a doctorate aligns with your goals. A doctorate comes with high costs of time and money.

There was a time when I also struggled with deciding if I should go on to get my doctorate, but doing so would have meant giving up my writing career or at least putting it on hold.

It's always about choices.

I just had to choose from two paths that were both appealing to me. Would you regret not getting your doctorate, or be able to make peace with it? Good luck with your decision.

Best wishes,

Nurse Beth

nurse-beth-purple-logo.jpg

Author, "Your Last Nursing Class: How to Land Your First Nursing Job"...and your next!

Specializes in Critical Care; Cardiac; Professional Development.

I agree with Beth. Very little of whether or not you can/should get a doctorate has to do with your age.

Specializes in Emergency.

Why would you think that you are too old? Go for it.