What is a reasonable starting salary to expect?

Nurses Job Hunt

Published

Specializes in Med Surg.

I'm a nursing student in New York State but really want to move down to Orlando a couple of years after graduating with my BSN and RN. I was curious if anyone knew any just general starting salaries or salary ranges. In a perfect world I'd like $75000 but that sounds really high considering that the average is like somewhere in the $60000s. But is it possible to get a $75k salary starting out?

Specializes in Critical Care, Capacity/Bed Management.

You have to keep in mind that the standard of living in Florida is much different than that of the Northeast. It would seem that the average salary of a new nurse in Orlando, FL is just shy of 50K, while in the Northeast I make just shy of 80K with a shift differential.

Salary: Registered Nurse in Orlando, FL | Glassdoor

In a perfect world I'd like a pony that can fly

Here I think it's about 29-30 dollars an hour (70ish per year)

Specializes in CICU, Telemetry.

Upstate NY was offering crap in the areas I was looking 6-7 years ago.

$22/h, poor nurse protection, poor ratios. Look up the legal mess at Cayuga's ICU. Couldn't pay me enough to work somewhere like that.

I would suggest looking into jobs in more desirable parts of NY (Westchester, Albany) if you want to be out of NYC but still in the state and earn decently.

A lot of my nursing professors in upstate NY were teaching full time, working in a local ICU or hospital unit full time, and living in trailer parks. Now I can't tell you their exact hourlies, but clearly not quite what was needed to achieve a decent standard of living.

CT/MA/NYC seem to fare a bit better with compensation, but I'd say that outside of NYC or Boston you won't make that much your first few years unless you work a LOT of overtime. I'd expect 27 to 30 an hour. 30x36x52 is 56k as a base salary, and without OT that's around where you will be for a few years.