RN's that dont like showering? Whats with that?

Nursing Students General Students

Published

Hi

I would like to share with you about a situation regarding a couple of RNs that dont like doing showers. I work as a nurses aide in a team nursing environment, well that is what the hospital prides itself on however its now becoming a joke. Another nurses aide and another nurse LPN have been confronted by RNs who state to them that they will need to do all the showers, answer buzzers etc. So the patient load would be 10-11 patients. So the nurse aide did about 10 showers, made beds, answer buzzers etc. I advised this nurse aide to report that RN as its not fair and you are not a machine. She shrugged it off with the idea she will not be listened to.

I am studying for my RNs and I work too as a nurse aide. If I did come across this RN I would be telling her bluntly what I think and definetly reporting her. I cannot believe the mentality of some RNs believing that they dont have to shower anyone anymore. That is certainly not what I have been taught and I have no problems showering patients. It truly amazes me in this day and age that the team nursing model of care is disrupted.

Does anyone have this kind of problem where they work? What have you done to resolve?

Look forward to your reply :rolleyes:

Hmmm... well, I'm a nurse (LPN) and I help aides as much as I can. But sometimes I am busy and I don't get to help out as much as I like to. I also use to be a CNA and I can't IMAGINE the nurses trying to do showers and still get their other responsibilities covered. Maybe that could be the problem, maybe the feel like they don't have enough time. BUT if it's in their job description at the facility where you work then they should definitely do THEIR showers, or at least help out where they can. That's just my opinion.

~Crystal