CNA 'tudes

Nurses Relations

Published

I work among two CNAs who are in their 40s/50s. According to them, they have been CNAs for 20+ years. I frequently hear them gossiping and talking down about certain nurses (especially new ADN grads). I've heard such comments along the lines of, "anyone can get a two year degree, I'm 20+ years older than her, I could do her job with one hand, etc." Basically, these two think that because they are older that they are wiser than some of us on the floor. I'm not a new grad, but I am a young nurse, younger than these two women. To me, their comments are insulting- but, nothing has ever been directed towards me/said to my face, so I try and ignore them. Has anyone ever experienced this before- older CNAs who think they know everything and are real ignorant about it? If so, have you done anything about it?

I have experienced this. I am 27 and tend to look very childish. I tend to avoid an authoritative stance when it comes to other staff members because, well, I do not have the looks nor the personality for it. When I encounter CNAs, techs and the like who doubt my abilities, I try not to let it get to me. I am not so experienced or educated to be beyond doubt, and I never will be! I approach them as a person who needs their help, and I demonstrate that more than willing to learn what they know. I even appeal to some older CNA's maternal instincts :inlove:. Kill 'em with kindness. Heck, let them harbor their beliefs as long as they do their job. Maybe they could do my job, but they are not. So why fight over a hypothetical?

Specializes in OB-Gyn/Primary Care/Ambulatory Leadership.

Eh. Whatever. In all likelihood, they probably could run circles around new grad RNs. Just do your job and ignore their comments.