New Grad - Short Stay Unit?

Nurses Job Hunt

Published

Hello guys

Sorry I am unsure of where to post this question but I am a graduate nurse and I have the opportunity with a manager at a short-stay unit in a hospital. I am wondering if this would be a good unit to start out on and what it entails. Thank you.

Specializes in ED, med-surg, peri op.

Any more info? Is it like a day of surgery where people who had minor surgeries come back to the unit and get discharge that day? Or is it for people who maybe only need to stay 1 night? Or is it a mix? Like people coming in for medical producers and stay a couple of hours and some people having surgery and some people staying overnight?

I've worked in these short stay units and yes I think they are good for new grads. Pt are normally stable and routine. But you normally see a lot of different things. Will give you the chance to gain a lot of knowledge. And it's at a pace where you will not get overwhelmed. And should be support well. Every now and again you will pt that dertoriate and get unwell too. Bonus most people are independent so very little dirty work (ie cleaning up poo)

Specializes in Pedi.

When I worked in the hospital (children's hospital), there was a small short stay unit that was part of one of the medical units. It was kids who were expected to be hospitalized for 24 hours or less, I believe.

Hello,