Help! Failing my first semester of nursing school!

Nursing Students General Students

Updated:   Published

I'm currently studying for my finals, but one class that I'm currently struggling in is Pharmacology (they took it back into the program after 5 years of being discontinued due to students complaining its difficulty) and after the HESI that we just took (which I failed) I have to get over a 100 on my final just to pass my course to a 78%. Any less than that, they'll kick us out since the passing rate is a 78%, so I don't know whether to even try studying for it. I've read some other topics that were in my position and I'm still disappointed in myself for not being able to pass this semester (my parents are even blaming me for not studying harder). I've worked really hard to get into the program since it's really competitive to get in and with all the work I've done, I feel like it wasn't enough.

I have friends who took the exams with ease and I just feel like they're naturally smart, especially one that's working in the weekends (she even went to a concert!) and she's still passing her classes with high 80's. I know I'm not supposed to compare myself to them, but I'm in a really hard predicament right now so I don't know what else to think, like why can't I be like that smart. I'm also bummed that I won't be with them for the next semester.

I've tried studying in study groups and even asked other people for help (including my mother who's a nurse but she hardly sees me since I'm mostly in school and/or she works since she takes night shifts in two hospitals), but for some reason, the information just doesn't stick. I know that I'm lacking in my testing skills since I knew the information but can't apply it to the question so I'm always constantly bickering to myself inside my head between two answers. I've read some test-taking strategies and it helped somewhat but I was still struggling.