Dealing with insults from patients

Nurses Stress 101

Published

I'm still a fairly new nurse and I'm struggling with dealing with insults from patients. Just recently I had a patient who I think misunderstood me when I mentioned I needed the CNA to help me get him onto the the toilet as I could not safely transfer them on my own. Told me I should go and take a bandaid off of someone since he was being too much trouble and didn't want me to help him and it just kinda emotionally destroyed me. Other things had been increasing my stress the rest of the day, but after that comment I could barely make it out of the room before breaking down.

People keep telling me I need to build a thick skin, but when I get insults like that, my mind just goes back to when I initially tried nursing school and wasn't allowed to retake a class i got a C- in because they thought I couldn't handle it due to my anxiety disorder. Then it just weighs me down and I just don't know what to do.

He didn't misunderstand you he was being a jerk. You need to learn to recognize it for what it is and let it go. He won't be the last jerk you take care of.

I'm still a fairly new nurse and I'm struggling with dealing with insults from patients. Just recently I had a patient who I think misunderstood me when I mentioned I needed the CNA to help me get him onto the the toilet as I could not safely transfer them on my own. Told me I should go and take a bandaid off of someone since he was being too much trouble and didn't want me to help him and it just kinda emotionally destroyed me. Other things had been increasing my stress the rest of the day, but after that comment I could barely make it out of the room before breaking down.