If you could start all over, would you choose nursing again?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Emergency.

Hi!

I'm msimone and I'm an accelerated BSN student at the University of North Florida. This week I was asked to interview some nurses for an assignment and I was wondering if a few of you wouldn't mind responding to 3 short questions below. I only need two responses, but please feel free to post more than that, I'm interested to see what you all have to say. Thank you!

1) Would you choose nursing as a career if you could choose again?

2) Why or why not?

3) In which area of nursing do you work? How long have you been in that position?

Thank you again,

Msimone

1. No

2. Too many to go in to

3. DD - 15 years

Specializes in Neuroscience.

In a heartbeat

2) Why or why not?

Nursing provides an income for my family, I like what I do even after the days I'm really annoyed with patient's or doctors. There is room for advancement, and someday when I'm finished with bedside nursing, there is another job available that I can do.

3) In which area of nursing do you work? How long have you been in that position?

I work in PCU neurosurgery, but I've been offered (and accepted) a job in the neurosurgery ICU. I have been here three years, and the difference between me as a new nurse and me now is night and day. I noticed a change in my attitude around the 2 year mark, and I became jaded, but still focused on the best outcomes for my patient.

Specializes in Med-Surg, Geriatrics, Wound Care.

Yes

2) Why or why not?

I do enjoy nursing. My 2nd career. I did an accelerated 2nd degree program. My first career was research (biology). Before that mostly restaurants. I'd do it again, but I don't think I would have enjoyed it when I was younger.