Recovering from a broken leg and starting my career

Nurses General Nursing

Published

So to get right into it, I graduated last July, got hit by a truck a few weeks later and spent months focusing on recovery, then had to deal with the state of Illinois dragging their feet before I was able to take the NCLEX in January. Thanks to more foolishness from the state of Illinois, it took four months to get my license.

In that time leading up to getting my license I hadn't done much work aside from updating my resume and looking around for open jobs. Stopped applying for positions until I had my license because I kept getting rejected for not meeting the minimum requirements of licensure [all online applicationes].

I feel miserable about the time all of this took and how little I've done. Should I explain the gap between my graduation and licensure with a quick story about the broken leg and how it helped me to gain wisdom from a patient perspective, or is that just silly pandering? I'm quickly approaching my one year anniversary of graduating and that's when the doors to many residencies and great new-grad programs start to close.

I did start working in an LTC facility a little over a month ago but it's miserable and I'm not sure my knee can hold up to the work. I want to get out of there as soon as possible but am starting to feel like that's impossible.

Specializes in Surgical, quality,management.

Explain you were in a serious accident. Don't have to talk about the patient experience unless you want to.

Specializes in NICU, ICU, PICU, Academia.

I think "I got hit by a truck" is explanation enough for the gap!

I think "I got hit by a truck" is explanation enough for the gap!

Yeah, that would certainly suffice it for me. :wideyed: Wow! Glad you are doing as well as you are!

Specializes in ICU, LTACH, Internal Medicine.