Bizarre Med Order

Specialties School

Published

Specializes in Community and Public Health, Addictions Nursing.

This is actually a kiddo on the daycare side, not preschool side, of my agency. And actually, he's a 4 month old baby, not kid. But anyways. Has bad reflux that's not under control plus I guess had a cold 6 weeks ago that involved some wheezing. Has been on multiple daily albuterol nebs ever since the cold started, and hasn't stopped. I'm new to this job, just found out about this kiddo on Friday, and have been working to make sure all med paperwork etc. is in place.

Checked him out today before the time that staff would usually give him a neb (here, classroom staff can give meds, not just a nurse), and he sounds totally fine with my stethoscope. No reason I can see in that moment to give him albuterol. He gets the neb, cries and fights it the whole time, and of course is coughing and refluxing by the end of the treatment.

I think to myself, no way did the doctor mean it when she prescribed albuterol as "give one vial every four hours" (no prn, no give for xyz symptoms), so I call the family and they call the doc. Nurse from the doc's office calls me back and is super rude, basically telling me my assessment means nothing, I don't know anything about this baby, and how dare I not follow doctors orders by not giving albuterol exactly every four hours? (Um, even the parents aren't doing q 4 hr treatments, but I guess I'm the bad guy here...) She tells me that this baby is going to need to continue q 4 hr, around the clock, albuterol treatments for probably another few months before they can cut him down to prn.