Anyone else try urgent care and hate it?

Specialties Emergency

Published

Specializes in ED, Pedi Vasc access, Paramedic serving 6 towns.

Hi all,

So I was an ER nurse a few years ago, left to do IV team, which I am ok with, but I feel like my nursing skills are going down because I am not using them.

I decided to try urgent care on a per-diem basis and started this week, I have only had two shifts so far, but I really don't enjoy it at all. There isn't much for nurses to do there other than room patients and discharge them, with an occasional PO or IM injection. Nurses at this UC aren't even allowed to splint which is a little ridiculous if you ask me, but anyway. I am just not sure if I should give it another week or two, I just don't want them to waste time orienting me for something I dislike. I am still part of the IV team at the same hospital so I can still revert back to doing that per-diem. I just don't even feel like UC even needs RNs for the most part.

Has anyone else hated it at first, but then liked it after a while?

Annie

Specializes in Pediatrics Retired.

I work pool in a busy pedi Urgent Care, for over 10 years now. We have phlebotomists, usually, but otherwise we do everything else. I don't hate the job but I hate how the Medicaid system has evolved into being abused by the parents and by the facility. No one can have Medicaid without a PCP. Ninety five percent of our patients have Medicaid, 95% of our visits should be appointments made with the PCP; siblings x 4, cough/congestion for two weeks, for example, a single visit which generates a cost to the taxpayers of about 2000.00. The abuse is rampant and there is no oversight regarding the insured or no oversight regarding the facility laughing all the way to the bank as a result. That's what I hate.

Specializes in ICU, CVICU, E.R..