Completely at my wits end on how to start my nursing education

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hello everyone,

I've been wanting to share my situation with people who are capable of giving advice, so here I go... I apologize if the information in this post is a little scattered but I'm completely at my wits end on how to even start my education in nursing.

I am 26, live in Los Angeles with my daughter and husband. So far I have only worked in retail. I have no medical background so I hope to determine whether nursing is a good fit for me by taking advantage of a 21 day trial period at a nearby career college (instead of doing all the prereqs at my local community first and finding out much further down the line).

I am currently enrolled in a for profit college to become a LVN. I have read all the warnings about for profit schools, but I feel in such a rush to start my nursing career. I have read all the posts about how for profit schools are a financial rip off. I have a family member who will pay my tuition minus all the grants I am getting so I do not need to worry about loans. There are no community colleges offering LVN in my area so I'm stuck with private.

However, I know for a fact that if I determine that I like the LVN program, I will want to eventually go for RN. I am aware of the job market for LVNs and that it might be very hard to land my first job as a LVN.

I am worried about so many things. Even though my family is willing to pay for my tuition, I wish I didn't have to ask for such a huge amount ($21,000 to be exact, for one academic year). I am also worried about maxing out my Pell Grants, when I do decide to do LVN-RN, before I would be finished with RN since you can only get grants for 6 semesters in a lifetime. Another concern I have is how to keep supporting my my family with rent and other costs, so I am torn on how to get started...