Is this appropriate?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I am a NICU nurse and my primary (ex 24 weeker) is getting ready to go home. The parents asked me if I would like to baby sit one or two days a week until they feel comfortable having him home. He is doing well, had a very smooth course ( never intubated, never septic, feeds well) and not going home on any meds or oxygen. So I guess I am just wondering if this is ok, how liable would I be if God forbid, anything happened?

I am a NICU nurse and my primary (ex 24 weeker) is getting ready to go home. The parents asked me if I would like to baby sit one or two days a week until they feel comfortable having him home. He is doing well, had a very smooth course ( never intubated, never spetic, feeds well) and not going home on any meds or oxygen. So I guess I am just wondering if this is ok, how liable would I be if God forbid, anything happened?

It depends on the state but I think if you are reimbursed in ANY way then you are liable as a RN. I would check your hospital protocol as well.

This is a good question..I have been asked this question before as well as was never exactly sure how legit it was....I hope you get some good responses. The idea to check the state and hospital makes sense. t.

Specializes in Nursing Professional Development.

At my hospital it would be strictly against the rules and you might be disciplined for crossing the line from a professional relationship to a personal one. I work for a children's hospital and we have a definite "professional relationships" policy in writing -- based on guidelines from the American Nurses Association and other professional groups.