Adn Or Bsn?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Renal.

I was just wondering, what is the difference between an ADN (RN)and a BSN (RN), besides the fact one is a 4 year and one is a 2 year program?

From what I have been told (I am only a student so I can not confirm) BSN move up the ranks faster and make a small amount more in some states, more in others. I think one of my nurse friends says it is 13 cents more an hour at her hospital.

Originally posted by det01

I think one of my nurse friends says it is 13 cents more an hour at her hospital.

I'll bet they're NOT beating down the doors at that hospital :chuckle. I always thought that BSN had more opportunity to do management and research "stuff". I plan on doing an accelerated RN to BSN program in my area that takes only 9 months to complete :D

bsn does open some doors for you, especially in management and supervisory positions alsoin specialty areas

My answers come from asking this question to a ton of nurses:

--There is no difference skill wise. One nurse manager told me she preferred to hire ADN's (this is local keep in mind) from my school.

--SOME places (not anywhere around here--ohio) will pay extra for a BSN. Some places it's significant, others it's a small amount.

--The biggest thing a BSN will do is open up more for you down the road. You may decide you're interested in management, want to go to grad school, etc.

The only other thing I can add is this. When I posted this question on another nursing website 20 replied and all 20 said to make sure I got my bachelor's degree. Even if you get the ADN first make sure to keep going while you're still used to studying. Good luck!

Brian

Also, some certifications require a BSN. Ex: Med/Surg certification through the ANCC (American Nursing Credentialing Center) will certify you in Med/Surg with a two year degree and I believe also a diploma degree; the board certification through ANCC requires a BSN.