How do you protect your identity?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Med Surg, ER, OR.

Just curious what methods you all use in order to protect yourself while at work?

I'll start:

I try to keep my last name secret to my patients and block out my last name on my badge as well.

Specializes in Med Surg, ER, OR.

Also when your patients ask you about your last name, how do avoid that situation? Any other security tips are greatly appreciated.

Specializes in Nephrology, Cardiology, ER, ICU.

I have a very unusual last name. When I was a staff nurse in an inner city ER, I (like everyone else) had only my first name on my name badge. Nowadays, I'm an advanced practice nurse and I have both my first and last name on my lab coat. I haven't found a problem. Other ways to protect yourself:

1. Most threats come for co-workers no patients. Don't reveal too much to co-workers while at work. Don't discuss your family, what kind of car you drive, where you live.

2. Don't have personalized license plates: 'traumrus, ER nurse, ER RN", etc..

3. Have an unlisted home phone number. I do give folks my cell number but I can always turn it off. My family has my home phone number.

Specializes in OB, M/S, HH, Medical Imaging RN.

My hospital only puts our first name on our badges. Our white coats, scrubs etc...are also required to have our first name only, followed by title. Patients often ask me where I live. I just say the name of my town and leave it at that sometimes I just say "in a house". You can't be too careful these days, there are crazy people everywhere. As mentioned, including co-workers. When I worked on the floor I kept my cell number private.

Our first and last names are on our badges, along with title. I introduce myself by my first name, but I too have an unusual last name and when patients see it, they frequently know my family. And it's never been a bad thing, as I have a good family ;)