How will our new grad Male RN work in L &D?

Specialties Ob/Gyn

Published

Specializes in many.

Our unit has hired a male new grad RN to work in L&D, he starts later this summer. I do not have any experience with this situation because I think it is rare and I only have 2 years experience in L&D.

Some of our nurses are concerned with having this RN do checks without a chaperone and insist that having a male RN will be like a millstone around the neck of the rest of us who are already overworked.

Not one to turn up my nose at something new, I am looking for RNs with experience in working with a male RN in L&D. Better yet, any male RNs willing to share their experiences so that I can share information with my co-workers.

Specializes in CICU.

Male ob/gyns perform checks and conduct invasive exams without chaperones. Female nurses start foleys on male patients without chaperones. I am a male NICU nurse and have worked with male L&D nurses and CNMs in the past, they have always been professional and excellent nurses. The nurses on your unit who grumble had better be very careful, this kind of complaining can lead to sexual discrimination type legal issues.

Specializes in midwifery, gen surgical, community.

I have worked with midwives who where male. 99.9% of our patients loved them and had no issues. They where respected as the professionals they are.

They delivered, did ante and post natal care without chaperones.

As a Uk midwife I worked with male midwives not many but they are there they were great- no problems the patients loved them- The way I see it is it is ok for the doctor be male on our unit 90% are men they do examinations in hospital and in there office why is that so different - I feel the OP islooking for problems just give the nurse a chance what ever there sex!

ragingmonster,