Work while in school for NP?? Possible??

Specialties NP

Published

Specializes in Acute Care - Cardiology.

I am ready to start back to school and the way that our university has the program arranged "supposedly" allows for full-time nurses to successfully attend school. I was wondering if any of you were able to work full-time/near full-time hours while you were going to school to be a NP?

I'm not sure. But I know that in PA school, the students are strongly discouraged from doing any kind of part-time job. But lets see what the experts say.

By the way, I'm from East Texas too!

Nev

I worked full-time weekends (Friday, Sat, Sun 12hour) while I was in NP school. You have to be organized and committed, and be ready to have not much of a social life but it can be done!

I guess it is really hard.

Specializes in ICU/CCU/MICU/SICU/CTICU.

Im in my first semester of NP school, which is all online, except for clinicals. Right now Im working full time (M-F, 8-5), and its ROUGH. All the reading, papers you have to write, projects, etc is rough to handle while working full time. As of July 4, I will be going to weekends only. I got my first paper back this week and even though I made a B on it, I feel that I could have done a better job, had I had more time to work on it. Keep in mind this is not a true practitioner course, this is one that everyone in the Master's program has to take, no matter what track they are in.

Will working weekends for the next 3 yrs be a pain?, yes, but I will have Mon-Fri to work on school, and I can always pick up a day or two of work here and there during the week if i want to.

I taught in an NP program and almost all my students worked. I heard complaints all the time that I was demanding too much, covering too much and I should understand their family and work situations. This drove me nuts.