What's your best 'Nurse Hack'?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I'm a soon-to-be new grad RN (only 29 days!! woo-hoo!) and I am curious to know from the seasoned working nurses: What is your best 'nursing hack' or advice for a baby nurses like me?

Specializes in New Critical care NP, Critical care, Med-surg, LTC.

Congratulations on (almost) reaching the end of your journey, best of luck in your career. Your question is quite vague, and I think that much of the advice people might have is specific to a work environment. Certainly if you end up in long-term care you're going to have a very different set of skills you're using than if you're in an ICU setting. If you're already planning on applying to a specific area you might ask for tips in that realm. And I'm sure you didn't mean that you want to cut corners in your career, but when I hear the work "hack" I think- way to get around the right way with something that just gets by. Just my opinion. And I'm not trying to be condescending in any way, but I don't think you should refer to yourself as a "baby nurse", you're going to be a professional and you're going to be just fine after you've got some experience, you're in no way a baby (that's just a term that gets under my skin).

And I'm sure you didn't mean that you want to cut corners in your career, but when I hear the work "hack" I think- way to get around the right way with something that just gets by. Just my opinion.

The first thing I thought of was "hacking" PEG tubing to fit an IV line.

Congrats!! I bet u could find things on YouTube that people have posted about what they do to make their life more simple as a nurse and as Least Complicated as possible. I love going on there. Lots of good suggestions. Good luck.

Specializes in Emergency Nursing.