To stay or not?

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hi,

I'm a 24-year-old RN. I graduated with my BSN and passed the NCLEX in 2015. This is my first post on this site, and I'd appreciate being able to hear other nurses' two-cents on something I'm considering right now.

I am currently working the NOC shift at a small, rural hospital. I started there back in the spring of this year, after moving back to my home state to be closer to family, and help care for aging family members.

My coworkers at my new job are all very supportive of one another and, in general, are wonderful to work with. My plan upon returning to my home state was to live with my parents very briefly - a couple of months, maybe - to help them care for aging family members, while saving money for an apartment closer to my new job. My parents actually suggested this plan initially, and stated that they have no problem with me living with them until I find a place to live closer to work.

The issue is this: I work three twelve-hour shifts per week, which is considered full-time status. However, because the hospital is small and relatively remote, our census is often very low. As a result, nurses have been getting "called off" or put on-call at least once or twice per pay period, if not more. Most often, when we're put on-call, we're not called in at all. Because of this, my(and many other nurses') income has been impacted, and consequently, I have not been able to qualify for an apartment closer to work based on my income(my work commute is an hour and a half each way).

I had not anticipated having so much un-requested time off when I accepted the job, and had thought that by six months in, I'd have been able to move closer to where I work. None of my friends live and/or work even remotely close to where I work, so sharing a house or apartment has not been an option yet, either.