New Grad Leaving Nursing!

Nurses New Nurse

Published

I'm a new grad who's been working on a medsurg ward for 8 months, and I'm burned out. I hate almost everything about nursing; hated it since nursing school. I saw the signs but ignored them. Now I'm considering leaving the profession for good and working a lower-paying job while I contemplate what I really want to do in life and what I should pursue when I return to school. Anyone else leave nursing only a few months or a few years after graduation? If so, how successful were you at leaving this field? What kind of job outside of nursing did you end up taking?

I left my unit and worked a different area of nursing. I HATED and I mean HATED working in the hospital. I know shock, it seems every nurse is suppose to love working in the hospital. I had a coveted ICU job and I walked away from it. I went into psych ER (admissions) and LOVED it! And now I'm a school nurse and love that too. There are so many things you can do as a nurse, but if you want out for good that's okay too. Nurses can get jobs anywhere. Teaching, business, sales, you name it and you can get it. If you are looking at something more specialized I would recommend a graduate degree. Life is too short to be miserable, be happy!

If you do leave, maintain your license in an inactive status. You never know what the future may bring.

I agree with 3 peas. I don't work in the hospital setting, and I am happy with my life. Take some time to apply to non hospital jobs. With 8 months of hospital experience, you are a stronger candidate than someone like me with no hospital experience. Look into school nursing, clinic nursing, public health nursing, psych, etc. and you may also be interested in fields like L&D or NICU where the population is still acute care, but different.

Specializes in public health, women's health, reproductive health.