Hello from the Other Siiide..what I learned about pt discharge when the patient is my dad

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Don't mind my Adele reference in the title.

I'm an RN who works on a cardiac unit of a hospital. We do a fair amount of discharges. Many of the patients are elderly, but a lot are not. I've known the importance of good patient education, and always do what I can to make sure a patient (and/or their caregiver - whether that's a spouse, child, visiting nurse) has all the education and resources they need. Our unit even does discharge call backs the day after to ask if the patient has received their prescriptions, made the follow up doctor appointments, and to ask again if they have any questions at all. My dad is in his mid 50s and just had a total hip replacement, so this is my first time being "on the other side". This is my dad's second hip replacement, he had the other side done in his mid 40's (its a combination of playing football when he was younger, working in construction for 25 years, and genes). The first hip replacement he was discharged to sub-acute rehab for a few days. This time they wanted him to be discharged home. My mom was nervous, but they explained he would have a visiting nurse and PT come to the house, and that by discharge he would be able to get up and go to the bathroom on his own, and wouldn't need to be doing any wound care, so she felt she could handle it.

This is what I have learned from this experience. It's going to change how I educate pts and give discharge instructions so I thought I'd share. (my hospital has policies to do some of these things, but not to the level I now think they should):