Needed: Tips to access a port a cath painlessly

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I have been working in oncology for 2 years now and access power ports (port a caths/medi ports) on a daily basis. I am able to access the ports successfully with positive blood return aspirated, usually with no difficulty. However, recently many of my patients complain about the pain from the Huber needle stick (even after using EMLA numbing cream and/or spray). Also, many of them state that my coworker does not hurt them when she accesses their ports. They cannot tell me what she does differently and I have asked her to watch me but she won't. (I have been a nurse for 14 years and worked ER mostly. So, I had previous experience, although limited.) I do make sure the chlorhexidine cleanser is dry before I stick, and I stabilize the port with my non dominant hand. Please any other tips would be appreciated. I do NOT want to hurt my poor cancer patients!!

- Are the patients applying the EMLA prior to the encounter or are you applying it? If the latter, you could double check whether it's on the skin for the amount of time they are used to.

- Make sure you're using mostly wrist motion and not pressing down into the chest with your arm/hand (using uncomfortable/unnecessary pressure) - this is pretty common when people don't stabilize the dominant/needle-holding hand.

- Are there other dynamics with this other nurse who refuses to proctor you on this? What is your relationship like? I hate to suggest it, but any chance she is sabotaging you by bad-mouthing you to patients? Or...in fairness, does she just have longer-established rapports with the patients and they are skeptical of a newer person?