Thinking about quitting after first day

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I am a graduate LPN who just had my very first orientation day at an assisted living facility, and it was awful.

When I got to the facility in the morning I had to be with the night shift nurse because the day shift nurse who was supposed to train me up and quit without a notice.

I was with the night shift nurse for about an hour and a half until the assistant director of nursing came in. I was with her for most of the day. She kept disappearing to do things and I had no idea where she was at or what I was supposed to do.

A care giver called out for tomorrow evening shift, and I heard that two caregivers put in their resignations recently.

For the last four hours, I was with the DON. She had to leave to go pick her baby up from daycare. When the assistant DON left I was in the med room by myself with no nurse in the facility for a good 45 minutes.

The nurse that was supposed to be there on night shift ALSO quit without a notice, so we had to give the night time meds.

The DON was pulling meds and handing them to me to pass, which made me feel very uncomfortable. All of the residents were sitting in the dining room and she was telling me to give the med to "name", and I had no clue who anyone was. I had to ask her who that resident was, and what medication was I giving.

While we were in the middle of the night shift med pass, the fire alarm went off. We had to get all of the patient's outside and check all of the rooms to make sure nobody was in there.

She acknowledged that this was a very rough day and wants me to train with just her next week. I am really unsure if I want to even go back.

Should I give it another day? If I do quit, will it show up in a background check and look bad to other employers? And how should I go about quitting?

I am a graduate LPN who just had my very first orientation day at an assisted living facility, and it was awful.