Epi Question (new to school nursing)

Specialties School

Published

I'm new to school nursing, just working as a sub, and I am confused about something that was said by a nurse who was training me.

She was talking about having stock EpiPens on hand for emergencies and being able to use them on someone who has an unexpected anaphylactic reaction.

But then she said we can only do that if it's a previously unknown allergy. If there is a student who has a *known* allergy but their doctor has not prescribed epi, we can't give it--even if they are having an anaphylactic reaction.

For example, the student's paperwork says he has a mild food allergy and his MD has only written for Benadryl -- but one day he is exposed to the food and goes into severe anaphylaxis. This nurse said that a teacher or someone else could give that student epi, but my nursing license would be in jeopardy if I did it.

I'm confused. Is this a common policy that school nurses follow? I just can't imagine witnessing a kid in anaphylaxis, having EpiPens on hand, and saying "I can't give this because it's not ordered." Isn't that why we stock emergency EpiPens?

Can any experienced school nurses help me here? Thank you!

I don't think that is correct. If a student has prescribed epi, it is ideal to give their own medication. But in an anaphylactic emergency, if the stock is closer- you can bet that's what I'm giving!

In one school I worked in, we had stock epi in both the health office and the lunch room. If I was walking through the lunch room and someone having a reaction, I would not waste time running to the office to get that child's epi pen. I'd grab from the stock and call 911.

Thank you, kidzcare.