Well Kiss My Grits Flo! Hurricane Florence: A Tale from a nurse in Eastern NC

The days leading up to Hurricane Florence's landfall from the perspective of a nurse and mother living and working in Eastern North Carolina. Nurses Announcements Archive

Updated:   Published

Specializes in Clinical Documentation.

I stole this title from a boarded-up restaurant window that I saw today in our small town in Eastern North Carolina. If any of y'all (see how I did that..y'all) have ever read my articles, you know that I am a nurse and my husband is a doctor. We have 3 young kids and are transplants (over 20 years ago) from the northeast. Yankee's as we are lovingly and no-so-lovingly (at times) referred to down here. Growing up, we both had snow and ice to contend with....lots of it. We are experts at getting to work, school etc in Winter conditions. We know how to prepare for such...when to prepare and with what. We both practiced medicine there and know how emergency personnel will get you to work if you can't get yourself there. When you get to the hospital, you better plan on staying...indefinitely. That being said, we have weathered through some serious hurricanes and tornadoes here in North Carolina, however, nothing compares to this baby named Florence. She has set our state and several others in a widespread panic.