Bad day......need thoughts

Nurses General Nursing

Published

So a bad day of orientation. I've been a nurse for 11 years. Just went back to med surg. Today we had a slightly emergent issue and I was asked to spike and prime tubing with NS. The IV bags I find hard to pop the tubing entry and though i had popped the top. Other nurse walks over and pulls it out of my hand and pops the top. Gives it back to me so I'm priming the tube and halfway through she reaches over and yanks it out of my hands and proceeds to put it in pump and looks at it and says did you prime it? I said I was in the middle of priming when you took it from me. Made me feel stupid and uneducated. On top of that I've either had a preceptor that is a new employee and focused on tasks so I dont get hands on computer documentation etc......or i get someone that is so used to computer doc they blow through. I'm getting so very frustrated. Any thoughts would help.....thank you.

So a bad day of orientation. I've been a nurse for 11 years. Just went back to med surg. Today we had a slightly emergent issue and I was asked to spike and prime tubing with NS. The IV bags I find hard to pop the tubing entry and though i had popped the top. Other nurse walks over and pulls it out of my hand and pops the top. Gives it back to me so I'm priming the tube and halfway through she reaches over and yanks it out of my hands and proceeds to put it in pump and looks at it and says did you prime it? I said I was in the middle of priming when you took it from me. Made me feel stupid and uneducated. On top of that I've either had a preceptor that is a new employee and focused on tasks so I dont get hands on computer documentation etc......or i get someone that is so used to computer doc they blow through. I'm getting so very frustrated. Any thoughts would help.....thank you.